Skip to main navigation.

Our History

HCREMC History

In the mid-1930s, nine out of 10 rural homes were without electric service. Farmers milked their cows by hand in the dim light of a kerosene lantern. The farmers wives were slave to the wood range and washboard. 

The unavailability of electricity in rural areas kept their economies entirely and exclusively dependent on agriculture. Factories and businesses, of course, preferred to locate in cities where electric power was easily acquired. For many years, power companies ignored the rural areas of the nation. 

In 1933 when President Franklin Roosevelt took office, he recognized the need in our rural communities. In 1935 he signed Executive Order No. 7037 establishing the Rural Electrification Administration (REA), which offered federal assistance to accomplish rural electrification. It became important for the rural communities to work together to form not-for-profit, member-owned electric cooperatives and shed light on the country side.  

In April 1936, Henry County REMC (HCREMC) was formed and incorporated after 13 local farmers were elected by the rural community to serve as board members for the HCREMC. On behalf of the membership, board members were to conduct business in efforts to provide reliable and affordable electricity.   

On August 26, 1936, HCREMC board members signed a construction loan contract with the REA for $413,000. Soon after, materials were purchased, utility poles were erected and electrical equipment was installed. The board of directors opened a headquarters on Broad Street in New Castle, IN (pictured to the left) next to the New Castle City Water and Light Plant. In January of 1939 the first Henry County farm was illuminated.

Today, HCREMC continues to provide reliable, safe and cost-competitive electrical service to enhance the lives of our members and the communities we serve. We are non-profit and focused on long-term stability and value delivered to you. Our success is measured by your overall satisfaction and your satisfaction is our profit. 


Seven Cooperative Principles:

Cooperatives around the world operate according to seven cooperative principles.These principles make electric cooperatives, like HCREMC, different from other electric utilities. 


Co-op Facts:

Counties served: Henry and parts of Fayette, Rush, Hancock, Madison, Delaware, Randolph and Wayne
Office hours: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. ET
Number of members: 9,253
Number of meters: 9,560
Miles of line energized: 1,031
Members per mile of line: 8.97
Meters per mile of line: 9.27



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo